Call for Submissions: F.P.Journe Young Talent Competition 2023

News • 14 Jun 2022

Call for Submissions: F.P.Journe Young Talent Competition 2023

The annual F.P.Journe Young Talent Competition is open for submissions for the 2023 edition.


Left to right: Marc Jenni (Watchmaker), Philippe Dufour (Watchmaker), François-Paul Journe (Watchmaker), Tyler John Davies (Winner of the 2019 F.P. Journe YTC), Michael Tay (Group Managing Director, The Hour Glass), Elizabeth Doerr (Watch Journalist & Co-Founder of Quill & Pad), Pascal Ravessoud (Director of External Affairs, Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie), Andreas Strehler (Watchmaker)


Supporting Young Watchmaking Talent

Since 2015, the F.P.Journe Young Talent Competition supports young watchmaking students and recent graduates gain their foothold as independent watchmakers. With the support of The Hour Glass, the winner receives CHF 20,000 to purchase watchmaking tools and finance their horological project.

“It is not easy for youngsters to start. I was lucky to work at my uncle’s atelier when I was young and received the support of passionate horological actors. It is my turn to help them a little as I was helped at a young age.” – François-Paul Journe.


Eligibility and Criteria

To enter, the applicant must have independently created and designed a timepiece and/or technical construction. The competition is open to watchmaking apprentices, students, and recent graduates aged between 18 and 30 at the time of registration. Self-taught applicants are also welcome. Applicants who have entered in previous editions but did not win are allowed to submit a new creation (one creation per year).


Winner of the 2020 F.P. Journe YTC, Norifumi Seki (宇譽護 關) with his Sphere Moon Phase Pocket Watch


The entries will be judged on originality of concept, technical complexity, design and finishing, and quality of craftsmanship.  The jury of the Young Talent Competition consists key personalities in the international horological scene, including François-Paul Journe, Philippe Dufour, and Michael Tay. The winner receives a CHF 20,000 grant from The Hour Glass and F.P.Journe towards purchasing watchmaking tools or financing a horological project, a diploma signed by François-Paul Journe and members of the jury, at a presentation in April 2023 with international press.

Past winners include Mario Scarpatetti (2021), Norifumi Seki (2020), Tyler John Davies (2019), Charles Routhier (2018), Rémy Cools (2018), and Théo Auffrey (2018).

Submit your entry for the F.P.Journe Young Talent Competition 2023

Tags: f.p. journe f.p. journe young talent competition françois-paul journe independent watchmaking

We’re here to help

Loading Consult A Specialist Form

Change Country

Select your country:


Share via:

To find out more about our available positions, please visit our Careers page.